clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Breaking Down the 2017-18 Coyotes Schedule

Plenty of Weekend Home Games, East Coast Road Trips In Store for Arizona Next Year

NHL: Washington Capitals at Arizona Coyotes Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Earlier this week, we learned how the Arizona Coyotes would begin their season as the NHL revealed the team would be a part of three home openers: their own (October 7 vs Vegas), Anaheim’s (October 5), and the first ever game in Las Vegas (October 10).

The league released the schedule for the Coyotes other 79 games next year on Thursday, a slate that includes many highlights and important dates for the upcoming season.

HIGH PROFILE START

After being given a strenuous start last season, one that included a six-game east coast road trip, the Coyotes’ first month of 2017-18 is filled with far more notable nights.

Following back-back home openers against Vegas, the Coyotes return home to play consecutive high-profile home games against Detroit (Thursday, October 12) and Boston (Saturday, October 14). Chicago (Saturday, October 21) and Dallas (Thursday, October 19) will also come to town in the first two weeks of the season before the teams finishes the month with another five-game eastern conference road trip.

But, with five of their first eight games not only at home against some of the more compelling teams in the NHL, attendance and atmosphere shouldn’t be an issue for the beginning of next year.

DECEMBER HOMESTAND

Also like last year, the Coyotes will have a lengthy homestand right before the Christmas break. The club will play five straight on home ice between December 14 and December 23, including high-profile meetings with Tampa Bay, Pittsburgh, and Washington.

After the Christmas break, Arizona has another stretch of mostly home-ice games, with five of the eight between December 27 and January 16 at Gila River Arena. The visit of Austin Matthews’ Toronto Maple Leafs and Henrik Lundqvist’s New York Rangers will take place during this stretch, on Thursday, December 28 and Saturday, January 6, respectively.

SATURDAYS ARE FOR HOME GAMES

Arizona is scheduled to play 25 Saturday games next year but will get 17 of them in Arizona. The team also plays all 3 of their Friday games at home as well. That means nearly half of all games at Gila River Arena (20 of 41) will be played on a Friday or Saturday night, hopefully helping boost the team's ever-struggling attendance figures.

BYE WEEK

The Coyotes “bye week” next year will come in early January (between the 7th and 11th) and is bookended by home games against the Rangers (January 6) and Edmonton (January 12). However, in the seven days immediately following the off week, Arizona will take the ice four times, including a back to back on the 12th and 13th.

PLAYOFF PUSH

If the Coyotes find themselves in contention near the finishing stages of next season, they will get the chance to play some crucial games on home ice. From February 12 to March 19, 14 of the team’s 18 games will be played in Glendale; the stretch includes the team’s two longest home stands, seven and five games, as well.

However, that run of games is followed up by a season-long, six-game road trip at the end of March, before the season concludes with four games that see the Coyotes play home to St. Louis, at Calgary and Vancouver, and home to Anaheim.


Here is a look at the Full Schedule.

Coyotes 2017-2018 Schedule

Date Arizona Time Team
Date Arizona Time Team
Thu, Oct 5 @ 7:00 PM MT @ ANA
Sat, Oct 7 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. VGK
Tue, Oct 10 @ 7:00 PM MT @ VGK
Thu, Oct 12 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. DET
Sat, Oct 14 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. BOS
Tue, Oct 17 @ 5:30 PM MT @ DAL
Thu, Oct 19 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. DAL
Sat, Oct 21 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. CHI
Tue, Oct 24 @ 4:00 PM MT @ NYI
Thu, Oct 26 @ 4:00 PM MT @ NYR
Sat, Oct 28 @ 4:00 PM MT @ NJD
Mon, Oct 30 @ 4:00 PM MT @ PHI
Tue, Oct 31 @ 4:30 PM MT @ DET
Thu, Nov 2 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. BUF
Sat, Nov 4 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. CAR
Mon, Nov 6 @ 5:00 PM MT @ WSH
Tue, Nov 7 @ 5:00 PM MT @ PIT
Thu, Nov 9 @ 6:00 PM MT @ STL
Sat, Nov 11 VS. 8:00 PM MT VS. WPG
Tue, Nov 14 @ 6:00 PM MT @ WPG
Thu, Nov 16 @ 5:30 PM MT @ MTL
Sat, Nov 18 @ 12:00 PM MT @ OTT
Mon, Nov 20 @ 5:00 PM MT @ TOR
Wed, Nov 22 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. SJS
Fri, Nov 24 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. LAK
Sat, Nov 25 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. VGK
Tue, Nov 28 @ 7:00 PM MT @ EDM
Thu, Nov 30 @ 7:00 PM MT @ CGY
Sat, Dec 2 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. NJD
Sun, Dec 3 @ 6:00 PM MT @ VGK
Thu, Dec 7 @ 5:00 PM MT @ BOS
Sat, Dec 9 @ 5:00 PM MT @ CBJ
Sun, Dec 10 @ 5:00 PM MT @ CHI
Thu, Dec 14 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. TBL
Sat, Dec 16 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. PIT
Tue, Dec 19 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. FLA
Fri, Dec 22 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. WSH
Sat, Dec 23 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. COL
Wed, Dec 27 @ 7:00 PM MT @ COL
Thu, Dec 28 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. TOR
Sun, Dec 31 @ 2:00 PM MT @ ANA
Thu, Jan 4 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. NSH
Sat, Jan 6 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. NYR
Fri, Jan 12 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. EDM
Sat, Jan 13 @ 8:30 PM MT @ SJS
Tue, Jan 16 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. SJS
Thu, Jan 18 @ 6:00 PM MT @ NSH
Sat, Jan 20 @ 6:00 PM MT @ STL
Mon, Jan 22 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. NYI
Thu, Jan 25 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. CBJ
Thu, Feb 1 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. DAL
Sat, Feb 3 @ 8:30 PM MT @ LAK
Tue, Feb 6 @ 6:00 PM MT @ WPG
Thu, Feb 8 @ 6:00 PM MT @ MIN
Sat, Feb 10 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. PHI
Mon, Feb 12 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. CHI
Tue, Feb 13 @ 8:30 PM MT @ SJS
Thu, Feb 15 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. MTL
Sat, Feb 17 VS. 2:00 PM MT VS. EDM
Thu, Feb 22 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. CGY
Sat, Feb 24 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. ANA
Sun, Feb 25 VS. 7:30 PM MT VS. VAN
Thu, Mar 1 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. MIN
Sat, Mar 3 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. OTT
Mon, Mar 5 @ 7:00 PM MT @ EDM
Wed, Mar 7 @ 8:00 PM MT @ VAN
Sat, Mar 10 @ 1:00 PM MT @ COL
Sun, Mar 11 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. VAN
Tue, Mar 13 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. LAK
Thu, Mar 15 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. NSH
Sat, Mar 17 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. MIN
Mon, Mar 19 VS. 7:00 PM MT VS. CGY
Wed, Mar 21 @ 4:00 PM MT @ BUF
Thu, Mar 22 @ 4:00 PM MT @ CAR
Sat, Mar 24 @ 4:00 PM MT @ FLA
Mon, Mar 26 @ 4:30 PM MT @ TBL
Wed, Mar 28 @ 7:00 PM MT @ VGK
Thu, Mar 29 @ 7:30 PM MT @ LAK
Sat, Mar 31 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. STL
Tue, Apr 3 @ 6:00 PM MT @ CGY
Thu, Apr 5 @ 7:00 PM MT @ VAN
Sat, Apr 7 VS. 6:00 PM MT VS. ANA