clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2017 NHL Expansion Draft rules: What you need to know

Now that the expansion draft is just two days away, let’s go over the rules again.

Las Vegas NHL Franchise Reveals Team Name And Logo Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images

The Vegas Golden Knights might be taking your favorite player in the draft on Wednesday, but that’s okay, they’re taking a player from every team. Yes, even the Coyotes.

Now that the protection lists have been released, we have a better idea of how the Vegas roster could round out.

From now until Wednesday, June 21st at 10am EST/7am PST, the Golden Knights have an exclusive window to sign pending RFA/UFA players and select their players for the NHL Expansion Draft, which is on Wednesday 8pm EST/5pm PST with the NHL Awards.

If the Golden Knights sign an RFA/UFA from your team, that fulfills the requirement of each team giving Vegas a player. Most likely, there will be some RFA/UFA signings and some surprising picks that no one sees coming.

There is a trade freeze from 3pm EST/12pm PST June 17th until 8am EST/5am PST June 22nd, 2017.

Vegas will take one player — no more, or no less — from each existing team.

  • They must select at least 14 forwards, nine defensemen and three goalies.
  • 20 of the 30 players must be under contract in 2017-18.
  • The cap hit of all players selected in the Expansion Draft must be somewhere between $43.8 million and $73 million.

Have more questions? We have a great video to explain everything you need to know about the Expansion Draft, if you’re still confused. (It’s okay, I had to talk to CapFriendly because I was confused too.)

The 2017 NHL Expansion Draft, explained

Still wondering how the NHL Expansion Draft will work? Let us explain.

Posted by SB Nation NHL on Thursday, June 1, 2017

What do you think of this Expansion process?