clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Arizona Coyotes representing three teams At World Cup of Hockey this fall

Time to see which Coyotes will be at the World Cup, and who has been snubbed.

Dan Hamilton-USA TODAY Sports

Four Arizona Coyotes will be representing their countries at this fall's World Cup of Hockey, after a season in which no Coyotes made the NHL All-Star Game but several players like Max Domi and Connor Murphy made appearances to their Worlds' teams.

So which Desert Dogs will at this September's marquee hockey event? And who should have been there with them?

Who Made It?

Martin Hanzal and Zbynek Michalek will be representing the Czech Republic, which they have done for many years at an international level. Hanzal was on the initial roster in March, while Michalek made it on the final roster.

Oliver Ekman-Larsson will be representing Sweden; he made the initial roster in March, to nobody's great surprise. Tobias Rieder will be representing Team (some of) Europe, as he was a late addition to the roster as well.

Notable Snubs

Team Canada

The Coyotes don’t have anyone ‘exceptional’ that would be looked at by Team Canada. Shane Doan has played in the World Cup of Hockey before, but that was 12 years and many changes to the game ago. It would have been cool to see maybe a 35-Plus team, but alas the NHL and NHLPA took a different path.

Team USA

The Coyotes don’t have anyone at the proper age for Team USA, so no harm, no foul here.

Team Acne Young Guns North America

Max Domi being left off of Team North America is a bit of a head-scratcher. After having an extremely successful rookie season, you'd think Domi would have been a lock. But with players like J.T. Miller and Mark Scheifele in the lineup there just wasn't room for Domi.

Connor Murphy should have at least gotten a look for the defense of the North American Team. Jacob Trouba made it in over Murphy, which is a bit of a headtilt but I can (sort of) accept that.

Tuning In

Will you be watching the World Cup this year? Who will you be cheering for?